Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s 2017. At last. I don’t know how 2016 was for you, but the past 12 months have been a shit storm in my delightful china teacup and I am, quite frankly, not sad to see the back of such an annus horribilis (nothing to do with horrible bottoms – I promise).

cropped-cups.jpg

As I was pondering a new year, I thought I should declutter something or other, as is the fashion. Not being the kind of girl who could ever knowingly throw out clothes or – god forbid – shoes, I turned to technology for a solution. After all, the kind of self-improvement that can be undertaken whilst sipping a G&T in one’s favourite armchair is the sort of self-improvement in which I feel able to participate. There I was, merrily decluttering the apps on my technological windows to the world when I came upon WordPress.

Now, those of you who have been paying attention (You there! Sit up straight!) will have noticed that I have woefully neglected my little blog in recent months and so I was very surprised to see that the aforementioned little blog has been quietly growing a life of its own.

You see, I only started writing because A) I assumed that nobody would ever read my musings and B) blogging enables me to think out loud without boring a friend or paying a therapist. I write anonymously, which means I can’t really promote myself on Facebook or other social media and I’m reliant on readers like you finding these pages through Google searches. Which, as we all know, is a pseudo-science requiring mathematical genius, a vast understanding of the psychology of what people type into Google, and a dash of witchcraft.

So, imagine my surprise when I opened the app on the statistics page, to find that 30,000 PEOPLE HAVE VISITED MY MUSINGS!

30,000 people! I know that this is a tiny figure by blogging standards, but most bloggers are promoting or advertising or actively seeking new readers. I have done sweet bugger all about such self-promotion and can only assume that so many darling people are visiting because the things I think about are also the things that they think about.

To an extent, I’m already aware of people’s perceptions, as I receive notifications of comments from my readers. I love it when someone lets me know that I’ve described an experience they were struggling to put into words. And I feel a sense of community when a reader tells me that they too have shared a life experience that I’ve chosen to write down. Equally, I see when I’ve been quoted as a source by angry men who think women are vagina-wielding meanies and I almost always allow comments from any viewpoint, including those who think I’m wrong. (Except the guy who sent the very unnecessary message about sperm. You’re on another level, fella. Apologies for not posting your comments but I think I would probably get arrested for publishing that particular train of thought….)

So I would like to thank each and every one of my readers, sharers, and commenters (except you sperm-fella) and wish you a happy 2017 . Thanks for occasionally dropping into my little world. May your annus be non-horribilis and your inbox be sperm-free. So to speak. Ahem.

x

cropped-860060_10151240980101863_861691869_o.jpg

